Lenten Practice: Silence

It amuses me that during this Lenten season when I have chosen silence as my primary spiritual practice, I start a blog.

Now, not only am I telling the Jeep #4 Car Drama Story to my family, friends, neighbors, coworkers, and the dealership, I am sharing it with the online world, where anyone can potentially learn from my mistakes.

Telling your story to the people at the dealership? Don’t they already know the story? You would think so.

Based on the e-mail replies, it appears that the people at the dealership refuse to step out of their own viewpoint and see what happened from my perspective. While my salesman continued to do his job, he did, eventually, begin to see the larger picture.

When I took the Jeep back to the dealership for service, to find out why the brand new car had water-soaked carpet under the driver’s side floor mat, I spoke with him for about 10 minutes. He said everything you and I would expect him to say. After listening to The Dealership Perspective again, as patiently and calmly as humanly capable, I assured him that I understood everything he was saying. Then I asked him if he would do me the courtesy of stepping out of his own shoes and looking at this from my perspective.

And I believe he did step out of his own shoes and listen.

During this Lenten season, my practice of silence is to do that very same thing, but applying it to the scope of my entire life. In the silence and stillness, to listen to the voice of God. What does God have to say to me? How does he see me and my life?

Isaiah 43:1 gives me (and you) a clue for how he views us. He tells us “you are mine.”

…this story continues…


Be still and know that I am God. — Psalm 46:11

Leave a Reply

