Jeep #4 Report: The Dealership Reaches Out

After an Extended Silence and Much Defiance, the Dealership Reaches Out

I’ve been driving Jeep #4 for more than three months and have now logged more than 3,000 miles. The Virginia State Attorney General’s Office chose to close my complaint (that happened May 1) instead of holding the dealership accountable, but the BBB complaint is still open, I believe, unless they closed it and forgot to tell me. Perhaps the BBB complaint went into Unresolved Limbo, which is what I believe happens when the company chooses not to resolve a consumer’s complaint. It’s been six weeks or more since I’ve heard from anyone.

Then… lo and behold, out of nowhere, last Friday I get an e-mail from the general manager at Dulles Motorcars.

Of course that would happen right after my dad buys me WeatherTech mats and gives me the present on Father’s Day! He held off on buying them for me, because he knew I was trying to return the car and had filed complaints, etc. He kept asking me the status while I remained delusional that the car dealership would do the right thing and take the car back.

Them DigitalFit mats are pricey! But considering the low quality materials car manufacturers are using, especially on interior carpeting, they are much needed, especially for people who tend to get muddy. You should see how thick the carpeting is on my friend’s husband’s 15+ year old Toyota 4Runner, and I’m talking under the floor mats.

Back to the e-mail from the GM, which says this:

I would like to discuss the situation with your Jeep Cherokee . Please let me know when we can meet. I have some ideas that might work for you.  I’ll be here today and tomorrow till 7 or Any day or time next week.

I wrote back that he should feel free to share these “ideas” in writing via e-mail. (I’m suspicious and stubborn like nobody’s business, and I already spelled out acceptable resolutions in my  BBB and AG complaints.)

The GM replied

I have been authorized by ownership to discuss options with you if you are interested. However, we need you here I person to discuss. I’m here all week and my cell is xxx-xxx-xxxx.

After polling family and friends and consulting my intuition, the consensus is that the dealership wants to make a sales pitch and try to get me to trade in #4 and try to profit yet some more. If the “options” were just and fair, they would put it in writing and would have resolved this long ago.

I have to run all this by the consumer protection lawyer who is reviewing The Facts of the Case, and may have to hire her to attend the “meeting,” if I get proof that the “options” are legitimate and fair.

…I thought the story was over, and I was another consumer out of luck, but the drama continues…

(To see all blog posts related to the Jeep #4 drama, go to Categories, on the right, and click the 004a Jeep #4 report link. Or you can go back to Day 1 and read forward.)


Today’s Gospel reading at Mass included The Golden Rule from Matthew 7:

“Do to others whatever you would have them do to you.
This is the Law and the Prophets.

“Enter through the narrow gate;
for the gate is wide and the road broad that leads to destruction,
and those who enter through it are many.
How narrow the gate and constricted the road that leads to life.
And those who find it are few.”

Leave a Reply

