Jeep #4 Report: Chrysler Calls Me

I reported June 23 that Dulles Motorcars reached out to me via e-mail asking me to come to the dealership to discuss “the situation with my Jeep Cherokee.” (“The situation” being that Dulles Motorcars sold me a water-damaged Jeep Cherokee and did not feel they were responsible for taking it back and refunding my money.) Since I insisted and the general manager refused to put any offers in writing, the dealership chose to respond to the complaint I opened with the Better Business Bureau (back in March), which they had ignored since March 27.

In the dealership’s most recent letter to the BBB, they indicated that I was unreasonable and unresponsive and were forwarding the issue to the Head of Customer Experience at the Chrysler’s Mid-Atlantic Business Center.

Today an executive referral floor manager called me to discuss “the situation.” She immediately said I did not qualify for a refund from the manufacturer. I explained to her that the Jeep Resolution Team already told me that.

So really, there is no news here:  FCA Chrysler believes it can send defective vehicles to dealerships, where they incur water damage, are then sold to consumers, and both businesses keep their profits. I believe we have reached the point in the story where I need to write letters to my state and federal representatives asking for greater consumer protection. We are not talking about a flat tire. We are talking about water damage. We are talking about a history of water damage in Jeeps that led to a current class action lawsuit in New Jersey. We are talking about a manufacturer that NHTSA is investigating for inadequate safety recall measures and remedies.

What Chrysler offered:  to send a field engineer/technical advisor to come inspect my vehicle. At first I did not want to do that, as I would rather have an independent mechanic do the inspection, but then I accepted. I can watch and document everything he does, I can still find an independent mechanic, and I can still start to make videos whenever things happen like the instrument panel going dim and coming back on after several days of steady rain, and which stopped after the rain stopped and sun came out.

While I had a Chrysler employee on the phone, I asked when I could expect to be notified about the most recent recall on Jeep Cherokees with power lift-gates, which are at risk of catching fire because of…. wait… water leaks! She did not know, as the company is still trying to figure out the extent of the problem. News reports indicate 99k Jeeps in the U.S. are affected.

I asked this question in honor of today’s NHTSA hearing, which is addressing the very issue of FCA Chrysler’s delay in notifying consumers of recalls, in addition to other failures and inadequacies.

This is how Chrysler treats the taxpayers who bailed them out.

…this story continues…

Question of the Day:  What is an FCA Executive Referral Floor Manager?
I found some insight at the Jeep Cherokee Club forum. Seems like they have had to hire a bunch of new ones to handle all the customer complaints.

Leave a Reply

