Jeep #4 Report: More Circles

When Pam Szuber, Head of Business Competency at Chrysler (her title on her LinkedIn account), called me on July 2, she offered to send out a field technician to inspect my car and would call me after the July 4 holiday weekend to schedule. After I got off the phone with her I realized that I failed to tell her that I won’t go to Dulles Motorcars for service. I figured I would address this when she called back.

Of course, she never called back last week. Instead, today I received an e-mail from the service manager at Dulles Motorcars. It reads as follows:

Good morning,

Concerning your water leak, I am having a field Rep. come to the dealer on July 22,2015.  Please let me know if this would be a good time for you.

Thank  you,
Diana Chadwick
Service Manager | Dulles Motorcars Inc.
Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, SRT
KIA, Subaru
107-109 Catoctin Circle SE l Leesburg VA, 20175
703-669-6893

So I had to call and leave Pam Szuber a message that I would need to take my car elsewhere for this “inspection.” Then I sent the following message to the service manager at Dulles Motorcars:

Hi Diana,

When Pam Szuber, Head of Business Competency at Chrysler, called me July 2 and told me she would send a technician to inspect my car, she did not indicate I would be going through a dealership to have this done. If she had mentioned a dealership, I would have told her that it would have to be somewhere other than Dulles Motorcars.

I have stressed to all parties that this is not a warranty issue. This is about Chrysler manufacturing defective cars, sending them to dealers, where they incur water damage, and are sold as new to consumers. As I have stated many times, I deserve a full refund.

I called Pam Szuber and left her a message about this matter.

Jennifer

Um. I don’t need the Head of Business Competency at Chrysler to schedule service visits for me. I can do that. What I need is for Chrysler and dealerships to hold themselves accountable when they sell water-damaged vehicles as new and take the car back and give me a full refund.

Circles and games. Always pressuring the consumer to keep the car so big business and dealers can keep their profits.

There are many others trying to hold Chrysler accountable as well, for much more serious issues. If you read this letter from Paul Sheridan to the Center for Auto Safety, regarding an unsafe Jeep design and failure to remedy the issue through a recall, which resulted in the death of a pregnant young woman, you’ll see how good my chances are.

Chrysler CEO Sergio Marchionne and NHTSA’s then-administrator, David Stickland, in a last-minute phone call, personally negotiated a deal to recall fewer Jeeps.

Reminder:  The comment period for NHTSA’s investigation of Fiat Chrysler closes on July 17.

Leave a Reply

