The Evening Rabbit Report 09-02-15

Scriptures of the Day:  The Sparrows

And do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul; rather, be afraid of the one who can destroy both soul and body in Gehenna. Are not two sparrows sold for a small coin? Yet not one of them falls to the ground without your Father’s knowledge. Even all the hairs of your head are counted. So do not be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.  — Matthew 10:28–31

I shall show you whom to fear. Be afraid of the one who after killing has the power to cast into Gehenna; yes, I tell you, be afraid of that one. Are not five sparrows sold for two small coins? Yet not one of them has escaped the notice of God. Even the hairs of your head have all been counted. Do not be afraid. You are worth more than many sparrows. I tell you, everyone who acknowledges me before others the Son of Man will acknowledge before the angels of God.  — Luke 12:6–8

Bird Business:  Flight Check

When I left for work this morning, Little Dove showed me how he could fly up eight steps. I told him how impressed I was and asked him not to leave until I got home. But when I got home Little Dove was gone. I was a bit sad and thought he might be around one more day before venturing out into the world. I looked around on the ground and in the bushes, wondering if he might still be nearby, and I wanted to be sure he was not in danger, because doves spend a few days grounded before they build up their flying skills. Little Dove was nowhere to be found.

I went to check the nest on the third floor, and that baby dove was gone, too. No parents anywhere. The whole family was gone.

When I went to clean up the landing, I noticed two doves perched on a ledge, just across from my door. At first I thought it was a parent with the dove from the nest, but then I realized it was both baby doves huddled together. The one that had fallen out of the nest was noticeably smaller.

dove siblings 1

I kept talking to the birds, and Little Dove who had fallen made his point by sticking his head underneath his sibling’s behind. I don’t see you, and you can’t see me!

dove siblings 2

Parents are still on duty. I am so happy Little Dove has been reunited with his family for this next stage of development.

dove flight check

Leave a Reply

