Walking in the Footsteps of Christ

Prayer of the Day: Stations

“We adore thee, O Christ, and we bless thee, for by thy holy cross, thou hast redeemed the world.”

Yes, in the Stations of the Cross, he who has the eye of faith sees in the story of Christ’s historical Passion his own individual story — and the story of the suffering world, in which Christ’s Passion goes on through time and the way of the Cross which, through it leads to the tomb and the dark sleep of death, leads on beyond it to the waking morning of resurrection and the everlasting springtime of life.

For us here and now, there is a more immediate and more practical meaning in those fourteen incidents on the way to Calvary. It is a showing not simply of the way of sorrows, which we are all destined to walk, if we will or not, but of the way of love, which heals sorrow, and which we all can take if we walk in the footsteps Christ has marked out for us, and not only imitate him but identify ourselves with him.

— Caryll Houselander, The Way of the Cross (1955)

Pray the Stations

The Way of the Cross

  1. Jesus is condemned to death
    John 3:16 God so loved the world that he gave his only-begotten Son to save it.
    Let us pray:  O Jesus, help me to appreciate your sanctifying grace more and more.
  2. Jesus bears his cross
    Luke 9:23 If anyone wishes to come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, You chose to die for me. Help me to love you always with all my heart.
  3. Jesus falls for the first time
    Isaiah 53:6 The Lord laid upon him the guilt of us all.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, make me strong to conquer my wicked passions, and to rise quickly from sin.
  4. Jesus meets his mother
    Lam. 1:13 Come, all you who pass by the way, look and see whether there is any suffering like my suffering.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, grant me a tender love for your mother, who offered you for love of me.
  5. Jesus is helped by Simon
    Mt 25:40 As long as you did it for one of these, the least of my brethren, you did it for me.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, like Simon lead me ever closer to you through my daily crosses and trials.
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
    John 14:9 He who sees me, sees also the Father.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, imprint your image on my heart that I may be faithful to you all my life.
  7. Jesus falls a second time
    Mt 11:28 Come to me, all you who labor, and are burdened, and I will give you rest.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, I repent for having offended you. Grant me forgiveness of all my sins.
  8. Jesus speaks to the women
    Luke 23:2 Daughters of Jerusalem, do not weep for me, but weep for yourselves and your children.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, grant me the tears of compassion for your sufferings and of sorrow for my sins.
  9. Jesus falls a third time
    Luke 14:11 Everyone who exalts himself shall be humbled, and he who humbles himself shall be exalted.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, let me never yield to despair. Let me come to you in hardship and spiritual distress.
  10. Jesus is stripped of his garments
    Luke 14:33 Every one of you who does not renounce all that he possesses cannot be my disciple.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, let me sacrifice all my attachments rather than imperil the divine life of my soul.
  11. Jesus is nailed to the cross
    John 6:38 I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will, but the will of him who sent me.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, strengthen my faith and increase my love for you. Help me to accept my crosses.
  12. Jesus dies on the cross
    Phil 2:8–9 He humbled himself, becoming obedient to death, even death on a cross. Therefore, God has exalted him.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, I thank you for making me a child of God. Help me to forgive others.
  13. Jesus is taken down from the cross
    Luke 24:26 Did not the Christ have to suffer those things before entering into his glory?
    Let us pray: O Jesus, through the intercession of your holy mother, let me be pleasing to you.
  14. Jesus is placed in the tomb
    John 12:24–25 Unless the grain of wheat falls into the ground and dies, it remains alone. But if it dies, it brings forth much fruit.
    Let us pray: O Jesus, strengthen my will to live for you on earth and bring me to eternal bliss in heaven.
Leave a Reply

