Holy Spirit, Renew the Face of the Earth

Yesterday was Ascension Thursday (though the majority of ecclesial communities in the United States have transferred the feast to this coming Sunday), so today we begin our Pentecost novena. The Risen Jesus promised to send his apostles an Advocate (John 14:16 and Acts 1:4). In imitation of the apostles who waited and prayed in the Upper Room in Jerusalem after Jesus’ ascension, we too wait and pray for God to pour his gifts upon us and our world.

As the Church celebrates Pentecost this year, may the Holy Spirit come anew in each of us, and may the fire blaze as Jesus wished (Luke 12:49).

Daily Intentions (excerpt from Adoremus novena)

Day 1 – Spirit of Wisdom, preside over all my thoughts, words, and action, so that in all things I may love God for His own sake above all things. Amen. Holy Mary, Seat of Wisdom, pray for us.

Day 2 – Spirit of Understanding, teach and enlighten me, so that I may never waver in my faith, but enjoy true peace of mind and heart. Holy Mary, Queen of Peace, pray for us.

Day 3 –  Spirit of Knowledge, teach me how to look at things in their true light so that I may not be bound by earthly attachments, but ever rejoice in thy heavenly comforts. Holy Mary, cause of our joy, pray for us.

Day 4 – Spirit of Counsel, grant that I may always seek thy guidance that my thoughts and actions may be informed by good judgment, and that whenever my advice is sought by others, it will be offered with kindness, prudence, truth, and in accordance with God’s will. Mother of Good Counsel, pray for us.

Day 5 – Spirit of Fortitude, strengthen my weakness, so that I may never be discouraged by obstacles in the path of holiness and virtue, but may willingly accept the trials and difficulties in this life. Holy Mary, Queen of Martyrs, pray for us.

Day 6 – Spirit of Piety, implant in my soul filial love toward God my heavenly Father, and brotherly love for all, so that I may delight in the service of God and my neighbor. Mother of God, our Mother, pray for us.

Day 7 – Spirit of Holy Fear, keep me mindful of the infinite Majesty of God, keep me from all selfish desires and evil actions, that I may humbly serve God and others with a clean heart and a clear mind. Immaculate Mary, Help of Christians, pray for us.

Day 8 – O Divine Comforter, we come to thee in our trouble and distress. In the name of Jesus, our Redeemer, come to our assistance and console us in all our trials and sufferings. Amen.

Day 9 – Holy Spirit, Spirit of Truth, come into our hearts; give to all people the brightness of thy light, that they may be pleasing to thee in the unity of faith. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

