United to the Divine Spirit

Prayer of the Day: Saint Faustina’s Union with the Divine Spirit

O Divine Spirit, Spirit of truth and of light,
Dwell ever in my soul by Your divine grace.
May your breath dissipate the darkness,
And in this light may good deeds be multiplied.

O Divine Spirit, Spirit of love and of mercy,
You pour the balm of trust into my heart,
Your grace confirms my soul in good,
Giving it the invincible power of constancy.

O Divine Spirit, Spirit of peace and joy,
You invigorate my thirsting heart
And pour into it the living fountain of God’s love,
Making it intrepid for battle.

O Divine Spirit, my soul’s most welcome guest,
For my part, I want to remain faithful to You;
Both in days of joy and in the agony of suffering,
I want always, O Spirit of God, to live in Your presence.

O Divine Spirit, who pervade my whole being
And give me to know Your Divine, Triune Life,
And lead me into the mystery of Your Divine Being,
Initiating me into Your Divine Essence,
Thus united to You, I will live a life without end.

— Diary of Saint Faustina: Divine Mercy in My Soul, #1411

What I love about Saint Faustina’s Divine Spirit prayer is that it flows not from a dearth of the Holy Spirit, but from direct experience of the Divine Spirit’s work in her soul. She has knowledge of who the Spirit is, what the fruits of union with the Spirit are, and how that union changes her.

We are all called to have our own personal Pentecost, which will transform not just our own life, but the Church and the world. When we let God do his work in us, the world changes.

Leave a Reply

