Holy Spirit, awaken me

Prayers of the Day: For a New Pentecost

A Morning Prayer to the Holy Spirit

Holy Spirit, as I awake and day begins
waken me to your presence,
waken me to inward sight of you,
and speech with you,
and strength from you,
that all my earthly walk
may awaken into song
and my spirit leap
up to you, all day, all ways.

Spirit of the living God,
fall afresh on me.

Spirit of the living God,
fall afresh on me.

Melt me, mold me,
fill me, use me.

Spirit of the living God,
fall afresh on me.

The Catholic Prayer Book, compiled by Msgr. Michael Buckley and edited by Tony Castle

A Prayer for a Christian Revolution

Holy Spirit, come like a mighty rushing wind
and disturb us out of our complacency,
our apathy, our indifference. Disturb us,
for we are too content to let things go on
as they are, and to let people go on
not knowing you. Penetrate the closed
gates of our hearts and make us live
again. O Holy Spirit, create among us
a mighty Christian revolution and cast
the fear of the unknown out of our lives.

The One Who Listens by Michael Hollings and Etta Gullick (1971)

Leave a Reply

