Long Have I Waited for You

Quotes of the Day for Feast of Corpus Christi

The Spiritual Legacy of Sister Mary of the Holy Trinity #305

“One sees nothing: a thin Host, a white disc in the heart of the Monstrance…Yet nevertheless I am there, yes, I JESUS, with My Divinity.—I have annihilated Myself that you may be able to approach Me, that My Divinity may penetrate you and transform you without your knowing it. It is I who do the work…I ask only your consent…

“I am there in perfect silence, in perfect patience. I attract souls without uttering words. My Voice sounds so softly within them, for a soul is frail.

“My little daughter, if you endeavor to speak to Me, your voice might drown Mine…It is better to keep a respectful silence that allows you to listen to Me.

“I wait. Long have I waited for you—for other souls still longer. Centuries may pass, but I do not tire of waiting for that voluntary impulse of souls who come closer to Me. Ever since I was ‘lifted up from the earth’ on the Cross, I draw them all to Myself.

“You are often impatient about little things, or because your prayers are not answered; think of the eternity and of the patience of God.”

The Spiritual Legacy of Sister Mary of the Holy Trinity #311

See how My Presence is light, not encumbering, as delicate as it is faithful…

“I have reduced myself to practically nothing, so that I may live among you without being burdensome…Without the least trouble you can absorb Me, and I act within you, so utterly effaced that it appears as if it is you who act…That is true activity, that which lasts forever. Few understand it; they prefer visible action with its immediate results. Choose between them.”

The Admonitions of Saint Francis

Behold, every day He humbles Himself (cf. Phil 2:8), just as when from royal thrones (Wis. 18:15) He entered into the womb of the Virgin; every day He comes to us presenting Himself humbly; everyday He descends from the bosom of His Father to the Altar into the hands of the Priest. And just as to the holy Apostles in true flesh, so even now He shows Himself to us in the Sacred Bread. And just as when they gazed at his very own flesh they saw only His flesh, but contemplating with their spiritual eyes believed Him to be God, so even we seeing bread and wine with our bodily eyes, may see and firmly believe them even to be His Most Holy Body and Blood, living and true. And in such a manner the Lord is always His faithful ones, just as He says: “Behold I am with you even to the consummation of the age” (cf. Mt. 28:20)

Diary of Saint Faustina #356

O Blessed Host, in whom is contained the testament of God’s mercy for us, and especially for poor sinners.

O Blessed Host, in whom is contained the Body and Blood of the Lord Jesus as proof of infinite mercy for us, and especially for poor sinners.

O Blessed Host, in whom is contained life eternal and of infinite mercy, dispensed in abundance to us and especially to poor sinners.

O Blessed Host, in whom is contained the mercy of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit toward us, and especially toward poor sinners.

O Blessed Host, in whom is contained the infinite price of mercy which will compensate for all our debts, and especially those of poor sinners.

O Blessed Host, in whom is contained the fountain of living water which springs from infinite mercy for us, and especially for poor sinners.

O Blessed Host, in whom is contained the fire of purest love which blazes forth from the bosom of the Eternal Father, as from an abyss of infinite mercy for us, and especially for poor sinners.

O Blessed Host, in whom is contained the medicine for all our infirmities, flowing from infinite mercy, as from a fount, for us and especially for poor sinners.

O Blessed Host, in whom is contained the union between God and us through His infinite mercy for us, and especially for poor sinners.

O Blessed Host, in whom are contained all the sentiments of the most sweet Heart of Jesus toward us, and especially poor sinners.

O Blessed Host, our only hope in all the sufferings and adversities of life.

O Blessed Host, our only hope in the midst of darkness and of storms within and without.

O Blessed Host, our only hope in life and at the hour of our death.

O Blessed Host, our only hope in the midst of adversities and floods of despair.

O Blessed Host, our only hope in the midst of falsehood and treason.

O Blessed Host, our only hope in the midst of the darkness and godlessness which inundate the earth.

O Blessed Host, our only hope in the longing and pain in which no one will understand us.

O Blessed Host, our only hope in the toil and monotony of everyday life.

O Blessed Host, our only hope amid the ruin of our hopes and endeavors.

O Blessed Host, our only hope in the midst of the ravages of the enemy and the efforts of hell.

O Blessed Host, I trust in You when the burdens are beyond my strength and I find my efforts are fruitless.

O Blessed Host, I trust in You when storms toss my heart about and my fearful spirit tends to despair.

O Blessed Host, I trust in You when my heart is about to tremble and mortal sweat moistens my brow.

O Blessed Host, I trust in You when everything conspires against me and black despair creeps into my soul.

O Blessed Host, I trust in You when my eyes will begin to grow dim to all temporal things and, for the first time, my spirit will behold the unknown worlds.

O Blessed Host, I trust in You when my tasks will be beyond my strength and adversity will become my daily lot.

O Blessed Host I trust in You when the practice of virtue will appear difficult for me and my nature will grow rebellious.

O Blessed Host, I trust in You when hostile blows will be aimed against me.

O Blessed Host, I trust in You when my toils and efforts will be misjudged by others.

O Blessed Host, I trust in You when Your judgments will resound over me; it is then that I will trust in the sea of Your mercy.

Diary of Saint Faustina #1747

God, You could have saved thousands of worlds with one word; a single sigh from Jesus would have satisfied Your justice. But You Yourself, Jesus, purely out of love for us, underwent such a terrible Passion. Your Father’s justice would have been propitiated with a single sigh from You, and all Your self-abasement is solely the work of Your mercy and Your inconceivable love. On leaving the earth, O Lord, You wanted to stay with us, and so You left us Yourself in the Sacrament of the Altar, and You opened wide Your mercy to us. There is no misery that could exhaust You; You have called us all to this fountain of love, to this spring of God’s compassion. Here is the tabernacle of Your mercy, here is the remedy for all our ills. To You, O living spring of mercy, all souls are drawn; some like deer, thirsting for Your love, others to wash the wound of their sins, and still others, exhausted by life, to draw strength. At the moment of Your death on the Cross, You bestowed upon us eternal life; allowing Your most holy side to be opened, You opened an inexhaustible spring of mercy for us, giving us Your dearest possession, the Blood and Water from Your Heart. Such is the omnipotence of Your mercy. From it all grace flows to us.

According to the Saints

As two pieces of wax fused together make one, so he who receives Holy Communion is so united with Christ that Christ is in him and he is in Christ. — Saint Cyril of Alexandria

This supernatural bread and this consecrated chalice are for the health and salvation of mankind. — Saint Cyprian

Let no one, therefore, approach this wondrous Table without having reverent devotion and fervent love, without true penitence or without remembering his redemption. For it is the pure Lamb that is eaten in the unleavened bread . . . Approach the Lord’s Supper, the table of wholeness and holiness, child of faith, in such a way that at the end you may enter into the wedding feast of the Lamb . . . There we shall be filled with the abundance of God’s house; then we shall behold the Kind of Glory and the Lord of Hosts in His beauty, and shall taste the bread of our Father’s kingdom; our host shall be our Lord Jesus Christ, whose power and reign are without end. Amen. — Saint Thomas Aquinas

One thing is certain, that next to Holy Communion no act of worship is so pleasing to God, and none so useful, as the daily visit to our Lord Jesus Christ in the Blessed Sacrament dwelling upon our altars. Know that in one-quarter of an hour which you spend before Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament you attain more than in all the good works of the rest of the day. — Saint Alphonsus de Liguori

When we go before the Blessed Sacrament, let us open our heart; our good God will open His. We shall go to Him; He will come to us; the one to ask, the other to receive. It will be like a breath from one to the other. — Saint John Vianney

Do you realize that Jesus is there in the tabernacle expressly for you alone? He burns with the desire to come into your heart…don’t listen to the demon, laugh at him, and go without fear to receive the Jesus of peace and love. — Saint Therese of Liseux

Leave a Reply

