As you did to the least, you did to me

Pope Francis at World Youth Day Krakow
Stations of the Cross – Friday, July 29, 2016

“I was hungry, and you gave me food. I was thirsty, and you gave me something to drink. I was a stranger, and you welcomed me. I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you took care of me. I was in prison, and you visited me.”

These words of Jesus answer the question that arises so often in our minds and hearts: Where is God?

  • Where is God if evil is present in our world? If there are men and women who are hungry and thirsty, homeless, exiles, and refugees?
  • Where is God when innocent persons die as a result of violence, terrorism, and war?
  • Where is God when cruel diseases break the bonds of life and affection, or when children are exploited and demeaned, and they, too, suffer from grave illness?
  • Where is God amid the anguish of those who doubt and are troubled in spirit?

These are questions that humanly speaking have no answer.

We can only look to Jesus, and ask him. And Jesus’ answer is this: God is in them. Jesus is in them. He suffers in them, and deeply identifies with each of them. He is so closely united to them as to form with them, as it were, one body.

We are called to serve the crucified Jesus in all those who are marginalized.

Unless those who call themselves Christians live to serve, their lives serve no good purpose. By their lives, they deny Jesus Christ.

The way of the cross is the way of fidelity in following Jesus to the end in the often dramatic situations of everyday life. It is a way that fears no lack of success, ostracism, or solitude, because it fills our hearts with the fullness of Jesus. The way of the cross is the way of God’s own life, his style, which Jesus brings even to the pathways of a society at times divided, unjust, and corrupt. — Pope Francis

— Pope Francis, excerpt from World Youth Day remarks after Stations of the Cross

Leave a Reply

