The logic of love

Prayer of the Day
On the Canonization of Saint Teresa of Calcutta

Loving and gracious God,
you called forth Mother Teresa from humble means
to be a strong witness to the transforming
power of your Son, Jesus.

Help us to be like her, Lord,
to dedicate our lives to caring for the poor and suffering,
to listen to your eternal Word,
to be the face of Christ for everyone we meet.

Grant that, through her intercession,
we might shine the light of your love
in our daily lives so that all people
may come to know, love, and serve you. Amen.

[source: Our Sunday Visitor]

Quotes of the Day from Saint Mother Teresa
From In My Own Words (Ligouri Publications, 1989) unless otherwise noted.

the logic love

The less we have, the more we give. Seems absurd, but it’s the logic of love.

Jesus is everything

To me, Jesus is
the Life I want to live,
the Light I want to reflect,
the Way to the Father,
the Love I want to express,
the Joy I want to share,
the Peace I want to sow around me.
Jesus is everything to me.

love that reaches everyone

God has created us so we do small things with great love. I believe in that great love, that comes, or should come from our heart, should start at home: with my family, my neighbors across the street, those right next door. And this love should reach everyone.

working for peace

We all have the duty to work for peace. But in order to achieve peace, we should learn from Jesus to be meek and humble of heart (Matthew 11:29). Only humility will lead us to unity, and unity will lead to peace. Let us help one another draw nearer to Jesus to learn to be humble and joyful.

the great destroyer of peace

And I feel one thing I want to share with you all, the greatest destroyer of peace today is the cry of the innocent unborn child. For if a mother can murder her own child in her womb, what is left for you and for me to kill each other? Even in the scripture it is written: Even if mother could forget her child – I will not forget you – I have carved you in the palm of my hand. Even if mother could forget, but today millions of unborn children are being killed. And we say nothing. In the newspapers you read numbers of this one and that one being killed, this being destroyed, but nobody speaks of the millions of little ones who have been conceived to the same life as you and I, to the life of God, and we say nothing, we allow it. To me the nations who have legalized abortion, they are the poorest nations. They are afraid of the little one, they are afraid of the unborn child, and the child must die because they don’t want to feed one more child, to educate one more child, the child must die.
— 1979 Nobel Peace Prize acceptance speech

the prize

The reason I was given the Nobel Prize was because of the poor. However, the prize went beyond appearances. In fact, it awakened consciences in favor of the poor all over the world. It became a sort of reminder that the poor are our brothers and sisters and that we have the duty to treat them with love.

on poverty

Sometimes people can hunger for more than bread.

It is possible that our children, our husband, our wife, do not hunger for bread, do not need clothes, do not lack a house. But are we equally sure that none of them feels alone, abandoned, neglected, needing some affection? That, too, is poverty.

faithfulness

God does not demand that I be successful. God demands that I be faithful. When facing God, results are not important. Faithfulness is what is important.

Saint Mother Teresa, pray for us, that, we may faithfully do small things with great love every day.

Leave a Reply

