Mother Teresa’s 1959 retreat – 1

First Day
Under the Guidance of Jesus, Our Risen Lord

Aim: To realize more deeply that the purpose of my life is to do the Holy Will of God

Examination:

  1. Do I really try to praise, reverence, and serve God? Do I put this into daily practice?
  2. Do I value the salvation of my soul? Am I working in earnest for the salvation of the souls of others?
  3. What use am I making of creatures?
  4. Am I truly indifferent to my work, the companions with whom I work, my health, my success, my failure? Am I indifferent to the love and affection of my companions and of the people for whom I work?

Readings: Book of Psalms 32

The Imitation of Christ: Book I, Chapter 20; Book 3, Chapters 9 & 10

Reflection of the Day: St. Augustine wrote these beautiful words: “Thou has made us for Thyself, and our hearts are restless unless they rest in Thee.”

N.B.: The Readings are optional. The Examination should be made carefully each day.

Leave a Reply

