Mother Teresa’s 1959 retreat – 11

Eleventh Day
With Mary, the Mother of Sorrows

Aim: To spend the day in union with the sorrow of Jesus and Mary in order to strengthen my resolutions

Examination: My desire to die to the world and to self love

  1. Do I keep my Rule No. 88? This rule tells me to love with humility so earnestly that I may accept humiliation readily, even with joy?
  2. Do I receive correction and admonition in the spirit of faith without excuse or complaint?
  3. Am I ready to accept suffering out of love for Jesus and Mary?

Readings: Isaiah 53; any passage from the Passion of Christ (New Testament)

The Imitation of Christ: Book 3, Chapter 19

Reflection of the Day:
“O my people, what have I done to you? How have I offended you? Answer me! I led you out of Egypt, from slavery to freedom, but you have led your Savior to the cross.”
(from hymn “Reproaches,” based on Micah 6, sung for veneration of the Cross during Good Friday liturgy)

Rule 88: Let them love humility so earnestly that they may accept humiliation readily, and even with joy. Therefore they shall receive correction and admonition in the spirit of Faith without excuse or complaint.

Leave a Reply

