Keep watch with the Lord

Night of the Lord’s Agony in the Garden

Scripture: Matthew 26:36–46

Then Jesus came with them to a place called Gethsemane and he said to his disciples, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” He took along Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, and began to feel sorrow and distress. Then he said to them, “My soul is sorrowful even to death. Remain here and keep watch with me.” He advanced a little and fell prostrate in prayer, saying, “My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from me; yet, not as I will, but as you will.” When he returned to his disciples he found them asleep. He said to Peter, “So you could not keep watch with me for one hour? Watch and pray that you may not undergo the test. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” Withdrawing a second time, he prayed again, “My Father, if it is not possible that this cup pass without my drinking it, your will be done!” Then he returned once more and found them asleep, for they could not keep their eyes open. He left them and withdrew again and prayed a third time, saying the same thing again. Then he returned to his disciples and said to them, “Are you still sleeping and taking your rest? Behold, the hour is at hand when the Son of Man is to be handed over to sinners. Then Jesus came with them to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to his disciples, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” He took along Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, and began to feel sorrow and distress. Then he said to them, “My soul is sorrowful even to death. Remain here and keep watch with me.” He advanced a little and fell prostrate in prayer, saying, “My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from me; yet, not as I will, but as you will.” When he returned to his disciples he found them asleep. He said to Peter, “So you could not keep watch with me for one hour? Watch and pray that you may not undergo the test. Withdrawing a second time, he prayed again, “My Father, if it is not possible that this cup pass without my drinking it, your will be done!” Then he returned once more and found them asleep, for they could not keep their eyes open. He left them and withdrew again and prayed a third time, saying the same thing again. Then he returned to his disciples and said to them, “Are you still sleeping and taking your rest? Behold, the hour is at hand when the Son of Man is to be handed over to sinners. Get up, let us go. Look, my betrayer is at hand.” Get up, let us go. Look, my betrayer is at hand.”

Question of the Night

Why are you sleeping?

Quote of the Night

Get up and pray that you may not undergo the test. — Jesus, Luke 22:40

55: Prayer in Time of Betrayal of a Friend

Listen, God, to my prayer;
do not hide from my pleading;
hear me and give answer.
I rock with grief; I groan
at the uproar of the enemy,
the clamor of the wicked.
They heap trouble upon me,
savagely accuse me.
My heart pounds within me;
death’s terrors fall upon me.
Fear and trembling overwhelm me;
shuddering sweeps over me.
I say, “If only I had wings like a dove
that I might fly away and find rest.
Far away I would flee;
I would stay in the desert.
Selah
“I would soon find a shelter
from the raging wind and storm.”
Lord, check and confuse their tongues.
For I see violence and strife in the city
11making rounds on its walls day and night.
Within are mischief and trouble;
treachery is in its midst;
oppression and fraud never leave its streets.
For it is not an enemy that reviled me—
that I could bear—
Not a foe who viewed me with contempt,
from that I could hide.
But it was you, my other self,
my comrade and friend,
You, whose company I enjoyed,
at whose side I walked
in the house of God.
Let death take them;
let them go down alive to Sheol,
for evil is in their homes and bellies.
But I will call upon God,
and the LORD will save me.
At dusk, dawn, and noon
I will grieve and complain,
and my prayer will be heard.
He will redeem my soul in peace
from those who war against me,
though there are many who oppose me.
God, who sits enthroned forever,
will hear me and afflict them.
Selah
For they will not mend their ways;
they have no fear of God.
He stretched out his hand at his friends
and broke his covenant.
Softer than butter is his speech,
but war is in his heart.
Smoother than oil are his words,
but they are unsheathed swords.
Cast your care upon the LORD,
who will give you support.
He will never allow
the righteous to stumble.
But you, God, will bring them down
to the pit of destruction.
These bloodthirsty liars
will not live half their days,
but I put my trust in you.

56: Boundless Trust in God

Have mercy on me, God,
for I am treated harshly;
attackers press me all the day.
My foes treat me harshly all the day;
yes, many are my attackers.
O Most High, 4when I am afraid,
in you I place my trust.
I praise the word of God;
I trust in God, I do not fear.
What can mere flesh do to me?
All the day they foil my plans;
their every thought is of evil against me.
They hide together in ambush;
they watch my every step;
they lie in wait for my life.
They are evil; watch them, God!
Cast the nations down in your anger!
My wanderings you have noted;
are my tears not stored in your flask,
recorded in your book?
My foes turn back when I call on you.
This I know: God is on my side.
I praise the word of God,
I praise the word of the LORD.
In God I trust, I do not fear.
What can man do to me?
I have made vows to you, God;
with offerings I will fulfill them,
For you have snatched me from death,
kept my feet from stumbling,
That I may walk before God
in the light of the living.

62: Trust in God Alone

My soul rests in God alone,
from whom comes my salvation.
God alone is my rock and salvation,
my fortress; I shall never fall.
How long will you set yourself against a man?
You shall all be destroyed,
Like a sagging wall
or a tumbled down fence!
5even highly placed people
plot to overthrow him.
They delight in lies;
they bless with their mouths,
but inwardly they curse.
Selah
My soul, be at rest in God alone,
from whom comes my hope.
God alone is my rock and my salvation,
my fortress; I shall not fall.
My deliverance and honor are with God,
my strong rock;
my refuge is with God.
Trust God at all times, my people!
Pour out your hearts to God our refuge!
Selah
Mortals are a mere breath,
the sons of man but an illusion;
On a balance they rise;
together they weigh nothing.
Do not trust in extortion;
in plunder put no empty hope.
On wealth that increases,
do not set your heart.
One thing God has said;
two things I have heard:
Strength belongs to God;
so too, my Lord, does mercy,
For you repay each man
according to his deeds.

Leave a Reply

