Walking in the bright light of faith

For centuries, Christians have walked the Stations of the Cross (Via Crucis) during Lent; year-round on Fridays; and daily at 3 p.m., the hour of Christ’s death. In recent times, we’ve received a set of stations to walk during the Easter season, to celebrate and meditate on the Resurrection of Jesus. It’s called the Via Lucis, or Way of Light.

The Via Lucis

153. A pious exercise called the Via Lucis has developed and spread to many regions in recent years. Following the model of the Via Crucis, the faithful process while meditating on the various appearances of Jesus – from his Resurrection to his Ascension – in which he showed his glory to the disciples who awaited the coming of the Holy Spirit (cf. John 14, 26; 16, 13-15; Lk 24, 49), strengthened their faith, brought to completion his teaching on the Kingdom and more closely defined the sacramental and hierarchical structure of the Church.

Through the Via Lucis, the faithful recall the central event of the faith – the resurrection of Christ – and their discipleship in virtue of Baptism, the paschal sacrament by which they have passed from the darkness of sin to the bright radiance of the light of grace (cf. Col 1, 13; Ef 5, 8).

Via Lucis: Stations of the Resurrection
(prayers by Father Cameron, Magnificat)

Introductory prayer

First station: Jesus rises from the dead (Matthew 28:1-7)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, may this Easter be fore me a new beginning in grace, in which I keep my mind and heart fixed on the higher things of heaven.

Second station: The disciples find the empty tomb (John 20:1-9)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, make me as empty as your tomb of everything that separates me from you, and fill me with your risen presence.

Third station: Jesus appears to Mary Magdalene (John 20:11-18)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, help me to understand that suffering means receiving your love in the measure that you desire to give it, for my benefit and to your glory.

Fourth station:  Jesus walks with the disciples to Emmaus (Luke 24:13-27)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, as I journey through the day be close to me, so that all those I encounter may experience your presence through your Word dwelling within me.

Fifth station: Jesus reveals himself in the breaking of the bread (Luke 24:28-35)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, help me to live by faith so that my life may be a perfect gift of self.

Sixth station:  Jesus appears to his disciples  (Luke 24:36-43)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, may I live fully mindful of your Presence, and fully alive through my union with you.

Seventh station: Jesus confers on his disciples the power to forgive sins (John 20:19-23)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, keep me united to you in holiness, that I may always be generous in showing forgiveness to others.

Eighth station: Jesus confirms Thomas in faith (John 20:24-29)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, heal me by your wounds, and make me compassionate and generous in embracing the woundedness of others.

Ninth station: Jesus appears to his disciples on the shore of Lake Galilee (John 21:1-13)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, may the appearance of your grace transform my worldly ways, and keep me obedient to your commandments with confidence and joy.

Tenth station: Jesus confers primacy on Peter (John 21:15-17)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, help me to make every moment of my life an act of unceasing love for you, and to be ever obedient by loving your Church.

Eleventh station: Jesus entrusts his disciples with a universal mission (Matthew 28:16-20)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, may the witness of my life proclaim your holy name so as to draw others into union with you.

Twelfth station: Jesus ascends into heaven (Acts 1:6-11)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, give me the eyes of faith, and make me deeply spiritual, so that I will always think and act in a godly way.

Thirteenth station: Mary and the disciples await the coming of the Holy Spirit (Acts 1:12-14)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, through the maternal mediation of your holy Mother, bring about in me the moral perfection and holiness befitting the children of God.

Fourteenth station: Jesus sends the Spirit promised by the Father to his disciples (Acts 2:1-13)
Prayer: Lord Jesus, free me from all shackles of the flesh to live by the Spirit to your everlasting glory.

Walk the Way of Light

Leave a Reply

